The world's natural resources are consumed at an ever-increased rate. What are the causes of this situation? What are the solutions?

The overconsumption of natural resources is emerging as a major topic of concern today. This alarming trend is caused by a few factors, such as the substantial demands for energy and the overdependence on developing nations’ natural resources. It should be addressed by a number of definite actions, such as manufacturing more environmentally friendly products and utilizing alternative energy sources. The increasingly high level of ​exploitation of natural resources could be ascribed to a number of causes. The most apparent reason is the ​tremendous ​ demands for resources in developing countries, such as China and Brazil. The citizens of these countries are becoming increasingly wealthy, and they may now afford a living standard that is associated with a higher level of resource ​consumption​.A clear example of this is the widespread use of cars among tens of millions of middle-income Chinese nationals, which may have contributed substantially to the burning of oil on a global scale. In less-developed countries, the over-dependence on natural resources, such as ​fossil fuels​, is another significant reason to consider. In Vietnam, for example // for instance, the majority of electricity is ​generated in ​thermal power stations, in which a ​vast amount of coal is burnt on a daily basis. Some measures can be taken to mitigate the problem of over-consuming Earth’s resources. The most practical measure at the moment is to reduce the demand for resources in developing countries. This can be done by mass-producing energy -efficient ​products and selling these items at a low price to these nations’ citizens. If such a measure is implemented, these people may still benefit from better living standards without over-consuming natural resources. Besides, a more sustainable solution is to ​lower the reliance on natural resources by taking advantage of ​alternative energy sources. For instance // For example, wind and tidal power in the Netherlands, nuclear power in Japan, and solar power in the United States have all proven their ​ energy production efficiency. These forms of energy should be used in other parts of the world as well to minimize the global dependence on fossil fuels. To sum up, the overexploitation of natural resources derives from the strong demand in developing countries and the over-reliance on these types of resources. Strong measures, such as reducing the aforementioned demand and using alternative energy sources, should be implemented to tackle this situation.