Nowadays people use bicycles less as a form of transport. Why is this the case? What can we do to encourage people to use bicycles more?

The unpopularity of using bicycles has been becoming a major topic of concern in today's world. There are some reasons why this means of transport is less common than others. Some practical measures should be applied to motivate citizens to use bicycles frequently. The decline in bicycle consumption can be ascribed to two main causes. The most apparent reason is that many people have been over-dependent on modern vehicles such as motorbikes or cars because of their convenience. By using such advanced means of transport, people can travel for a long distance in a short time without too much effort. Another reason is that modern vehicles like cars and motorbikes have a variety of models and shapes than bikes so that residents have more choices to choose the most favorite ones. Besides, more and more cutting-edge technology is applied to modern transport that helps people go faster. To incentivize more people to ride a bike, several solutions can be implemented. One possible measure is that the government may impose a heavy tax on petrol and vehicle consumption. This approach not only can mitigate the gas emission released from modern modes of transportation but also encourage many residents to change to use such environmentally friendly vehicles like bicycles. Another notable way to increase the number of people using bicycle is to raise public's perception. For instance, local authorities and other organizations can arrange public-oriented activities that stimulate people to use bicycles to protect the environment. Besides, the human health benefits such as alleviating heart attacks or strokes by riding a bike could be shared through social media. In conclusion, the bicycle's popularity is lessened these days which stems from the ubiquitous use of other high-speed transport. Some aforementioned solutions should be adopted to increase the number of people using bicycles. If these measures can be taken, it can bring a lot of advantages associated with human health and the environment.