A recent survey shows that in many countries across the world people are generally living longer. But an increased life expectancy has many implications for aging individuals and for society as a whole. What are the possible effects of a longer life expectancy on individuals and society?

An ageing society is one important problem that most countries have to face. However, whether ageing individuals have an effect on whole societies is a controversial issue. In my opinion, the elderly situation has negative implications in many countries. People ’s lives are getting longer with technological development. In some areas, we can find lots of people over 100 years old. Meanwhile, young people don’t want to have a baby early because they are working in this world full of competition. Therefore, reducing the population is an extremely important problem that many countries have to address, especially some developed countries. For example, you can see there are lots of elderly people on public transport, in parks, and in supermarkets. At the same time, many elderly people have to continue working even though they have retired. The simple reason is that there is a lack of young people willing to work and replace them. Some old people need to take care of their grandchildren because their children are very busy. On the other hand, the government should provide lots of resources for an aging society. They need to spend lots of money on the elderly themselves. Investing in public health, creating care centers for the elderly, and building some entertainment facilities for the elderly are all examples. So the government either needs more money from all the taxpayers or reduces the investment in other options, such as infrastructure, public education, entertainment, etc. In addition, young people have to spend time taking care of their parents, although they are very busy, so some of them always make mistakes in their jobs because of pressure. In conclusion, an aging society is a popular problem that lots of countries should face. I believe it could be resolved in the future.