Students perform better in school when they are rewarded rather than punished. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many people argue that pupils only achieve good academic results thanks to rewards. In my opinion, however, I believe that punishment also contributes to the success of learners’ performance. On the one hand, there are some reasons why prizes can encourage students to study better. The first reason is that being rewarded will stimulate students to learn. To be more specific, learners have a sense of recognition when they are given a reward in a lesson. Moreover, they believe that their efforts are accepted and they will try harder to acquire more goals. As a result, they will devote more time in learning to obtain higher marks. The second reason to support this opinion is that prizes can motivate students to challenge themselves. For example, learners are encouraged to do a particular difficult task to obtain a present that no one has ever achieved before. By doing so, it might involve most of the students to join and create an environment in which students have a chance to break their limit. On the other hand, I would argue that students sometimes should be punished in order to perform better at school. Firstly, this can help to raise their awareness of responsibilities. For instance, pupils cannot be granted any presents if they fail to do homework. What is more, doing exersises at home is beneficial for them to revise all the knowledge for their final tests. Therefore, if they don’t finish that task, there should be some measures to punish them so that they will be aware of their missions in the future. Secondly, punishment at school might result in lower proportions of those who drop out. It is believed that schools are the sole places to gain knowledge and students cannot go anywhere to learn. If they violate any of the school rules, their names will be put in the black list. Hence, pupils will be conscious of the importance of school and try to be well- bahaved to learn. In conclusion, although prizes can give motivation to students, they should be approached to rules and consequences if they want to study better.