Many people believe that the overconsumption of refined sugar is a major problem in the world and should be regulated the same as alcohol and tobacco. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays quite a few individuals hold the view that excessive eating of fast carbohydrates such as glucose, fructose and others is a serious issue for the world population and hence certain measures are needed. Probably, similar to those that the government has created in regard to alcohol and tobacco products in order to protect consumers’ health. From my perspective, overconsumption of fast carbs is taking its toll on adults and children which is why I absolutely agree that certain steps should be taken to combat the problem. To begin with, by consuming too many carbohydrates a person might develop a variety of diseases such as diabetes and obesity which negatively influences the level of life expectancy. For example, experts claim that obesity has become the plague of the 21st century. Moreover, a study has shown that the number of premature deaths has grown at least by 25% because of excessive intake of refined carbs. On top of that, nutritionists suggest that this trend will continue. Furthermore, the situation is getting worse and hence it is a matter of high importance to implement new measures to fight the issue. Besides, it can be seen that some actions and restrictions established for decreasing cigarette and alcohol consumption might work for some individuals. For instance, researchers found that sales of these detrimental kinds of products have reduced by 11% worldwide thanks to anti-advertising and increased prices. Therefore, similar regulations, for example, anti-advertising, warnings about adverse consequences on sweets’ labels such as risks of obesity and diabetes and higher cost may well protect consumers from overconsumption of refined carbohydrates and thus prolong their life expectancy. In conclusion, it is a well-known fact that society has been suffering from sugar addiction for decades which has a negative effect on their health. That is why certain measures and certifications are necessary to change the tendency.