Some people say now there is less communication between family members than in the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this ultra-modern epoch, it is a moot point that the communication gap has increased between families as compared to the past years. I am in agreement to a larger extent with the said notion and this essay would shed light on my personal standpoint. To commence with, I do have some grounds against the central idea. First and foremost, the development of technology has surged the interaction between families because,with just a single click on the phone, individuals can connect to their loved ones through social media like WhatsApp, skype or facetime. Secondly, improved transportation has made it very convenient for the multitudes to reach their family members whenever required. As a result, modern gadgets and advanced features of technology have resulted in better relations than in past. Shifting towards the view of agreement that how masses are overstressed with the work-life balance. To elaborate, because of the inflation and financial needs, it has become very challenging to cope with the satisfaction of the family and this is the significant reason which triggers this issue of interaction difference. For instance, a survey from researchers observed that 70% of people spend on average 10-12 hours at their workplace and spend very little time at home. Thus, it can be argued without any scepticism that this trend is rising due to financial crises. Furthermore, it is evident that each family has the issue of a generation gap which affects the discussions among family members. In other words, youngsters feel that their parents cannot understand their emotions whereas adults feel that children neglect their thoughts, because of the age disparity among them and they choose to avoid small talk. To cite an epitome, a recent headline published by BBC (British Broadcasting Corporation) in 2010, revealed that now in the modern world 3 out of 5 youngsters decide to separate from their families so that they can enjoy liberty. Consequently, the family tree gets affected which reduces the communication difference. In conclusion, even though improved technology has brought families closer, however, the economical burden and need for privacy have increased the conflicts among the members.