Some people think that english will be the only language to be spoken globally. what are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In many parts of the globe, it is assumed that English will become the main tongue around the globe. In this essay, I will present several benefits and disadvantages that could arise from having one sole language in the world. Initially, travelling easily across the world and a more unified world could be some potential advantages of speaking only one language. For instance, English communication would allow people to interact with foreign nationalities easily and thus, entice bigger crowds to further invest in tourism. Consequently, the world's economy would rise and those in the industry would thrive. Additionally, speaking the same idiom could unified earth, which would allow countries to get along better and might even contribute to world peace. Without further separation, nations would collaborate to combat common issues, such as global warming, world hunger and so on. On the other hand, some disadvantages could arise from speaking solely one tongue. Not only would ancient cultures get lost but also migration issues could negatively impact society. Dialects, for example, are known to carry a nation's history, and without these, countries could suffer great losses. Without knowledge about the past, future generations would lack cultural guidance to contribute to society's growth. Coupled with the loss of national identity, this may lead to detrimental effects on society. National pride would be dismissed as more individuals would migrate to different places to acquire new and better life experiences. To conclude, even though English is becoming the primary language in the world would allow the earth to peacefully unify and citizens of the world to get to know different countries, dreadful consequences could also occur.