In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a results od eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food

It is important to consider how much money we spend on canned food nowadays. While some people believe that the government should levy an additional tax on the consumption of sugary and related items, others argue that creating awareness programs by the government may help its citizens in following a healthy lifestyle. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument while I support the latter opinion. On the first hand, a lot of people suggest that a higher tax ought to be imposed on the consumption of junk food. This is because of the fact that this, in turn, will reduce consumption eventually since people, generally, are price sensitive. To illustrate this point, a similar action plan was executed by the government to discourage its law-abiding citizens to quit smoking quite recently. In contrast, if such action is not implemented in the near future, people's health will deteriorate patently. On the other hand, the government should create awareness camps to educate its citizens in regard to following a healthy lifestyle. It is because of the fact that people, who are accustomed to eating unhealthy meals and sugary items, will devour them regardless of a change in price. For example, a person, who is addicted to smoking, will consume cigarettes despite a change in its price. On the contrary, the attitude and behaviour of its citizens towards fast food can be changed if they are exposed to well-drafted awareness communications. In conclusion, although levying a higher tax on buying and selling fast food may stop a few foodies from consuming unhealthy edibles, people should be educated with respect to the pros and cons of following an unhealthy way of life. I think this may help the government to help its citizens from health issues arising off processed food.