Some people believe that violence in the media, such as in television programs and films, directly results in violent behaviour. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

These days, many individuals believe that aggressive behaviour stems from exposure to violent content, while others strongly disagree with that statement. From my perspective, watching too many violent movies can lead to aggression as people tend to copy what they see on the screens.   One obvious reason is that people, particularly children and adolescents, tend to mimic what they perceive on the screen. It is due to the fact that they are not mature enough to distinguish between reality and virtuality. Furthermore, they are unable to comprehend the motivations that lead to violence in the media. As a result, they try to imitate and act violently in real life. To illustrate, according to a report in the UK, in 2022, 50% of the bullying taking place at school is associated with the violent content that they saw at home. Hence, the more brutal films they watch, the more aggressively they behave.   Exposing too many cruel films and games greatly contributes to violent behaviour as it makes people become desensitized to it and start to think aggressively. Due to a lack of interpersonal skills to deal with problems, they are likely to believe that the best way to deal with conflicts is to use violence. For example, a study shows that kids tend to behave violently when they start to realize that things did not happen as they expected.   To conclude, it is my belief that exposing too much violent content can lead directly to aggression since people are supposed to copy it and think in a violent way.