In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a results od eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for government to impose a higher tax on this kind of food

It is quite important to consider how much we generally spend on junk food nowadays. While some people believe that an additional tax be introduced against the selling of sugary items and canned food, others argue that people need to be educated regarding the ill effects of consuming such edibles. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument while I support my view for the latter opinion. On the first hand, some folks, who opine that an additional tax be levied on junk food, argue that convenience food is unhealthy. The reason for this is that the consumption of junk food can lead to obesity and other cardiovascular diseases, which may, at later stages, become terminal. For example, a report published in one of the gazette newspapers suggested that regular eating of processed foods may tamper with the quality of life. On the contrary, if such policies are not incorporated by the government, people's life and health will deteriorate in the times ahead. On the other hand, the government should educate its law-abiding citizens regarding the pros and cons of fast food. It is because of the fact that a person, who is accustomed to consuming junk food and processed food, will continue to do so despite an upward movement in their prices. To illustrate this point, a person, who is addicted to smoking, will continue to smoke regardless of price. In contrast, good awareness communications should be planned, if the government wish to change the behaviour and attitude of its citizens towards processed food. In conclusion, while levying an additional tax on junk food may restrict its consumption to an extent, the general public needs to be educated with regard to the disadvantages of junk food, which may have a profound effect on their overall well-being.