Some people think it is more important to spend money on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree?

In this day and age, it is argued by some that the government should spend money on road systems. Although investing in transport systems brings certain merits, I personally believe that it is more beneficial to spend money on roads and motorways. On the one hand, public transport systems may bring some benefits to the environment and people. Firstly, public transport systems are beneficial for the environment. This means that when people use public transport, they produce less pollutants than using other vehicles. As a result, this can contribute to improving air quality. Secondly, public transport is a great choice for many people who do not have private vehicles. This is mainly because some people cannot afford to buy private vehicles such as cars or motorbikes. For example, in Ho Chi Minh City, buses are popular among students and low-income workers. On the other hand, I am firmly convinced that the benefits of diverting funds to roads are more considerable. To begin with, the road is the most common and the main route in traffic. In other words the amount of traffic on roads every day is very large. For instance, in VietNam, traffic jams often occur in large numbers in big cities such as Ha Noi. In addition, spending money on roads can help solve traffic problems. The main reason is that when road quality is improved, it will be safer for people to take part in traffic. Besides, traffic congestion will be reduced during peak hours. In conclusion, while there are convincing arguments for investing in public transport systems, I personally believe that the government should allocate a budget to improve road quality.