Overpopulation is the world’s most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The majority of people consider overpopulation the world’s most crucial issue. Personally, I agree with this opinion and I believe that the problem of overpopulation is very serious. This essay will provide arguments supporting this point of view. The question of overpopulation is critical because it leads to other serious problems, the most important one of which is pollution. People tend to use less efficient methods while extracting natural resources, therefore causing pollution. One prime example is oil spills, the biggest one of which happened in 2008, in an oil extraction platform “Deepwater Horizon”, that has polluted considerable areas of water resources and killed aquatic fauna. People are forced to use more natural resources as a direct result of overpopulation since the more people live on Earth, the more resources are required to sustain those lives. Another reason why overpopulation is a serious issue is the lack of food to support humanity. Agriculture uses a considerable amount of land as farming land to obtain food and requires lots of other resources. This can be dangerous for the environment since people cut down forests and convert them into farming grounds to employ for farming purposes which destroys local ecosystems. For instance, in Brazil, the rainforests of the Amazon are being cut down to be converted to farms and a unique ecosystem is under threat of destruction. Another example of a destroyed ecosystem is the Aral Sea, which has been lost due to the drought as a result of a project conducted by the USSR to divert the waters of Syrdaria and Amudarya, the rivers that used to feed the Aral Sea, to support local farming. Agricultural development, if left unchecked, can easily prove to be a problem for the environment. To conclude, overpopulation is indeed a serious ecological issue that has to be addressed urgently. People are in need of food and resources, but agricultural activities or the extraction of natural resources may damage the environment. If people will fail to take control of their actions, the planet Earth may be damaged beyond repair.