Many people feel the urban encivronments are more unhealthy than they have ever been What do you think are the main causes of the problem? What measures can be effective in tackling this problem ?

It is undeniable that life in the urban center has become more unhealthy year after year. This issue is caused by both: overpopulation in megalopolis; and the excessive use of pollutive sources. However, it is still possible to reverse that situation with correct government incentives. Firstly and foremost, it is important to understand the history behind it. With the beginning of industrialisation, in the 18th century, there was a change in economic dynamics that made workers migrate from rural to industrial areas seeking for job. That was the trigger for the urbanisation process leading to a higher number of people concentrated on a small portion of land. From then on, we started seeing a domino effect where in order to accommodate the spiking demand for houses, green spaces were converted into concrete constructions, consequently reducing the renovation of O2 and decreasing the air quality. Moreover, decades later, the superpoluted centre generated mobility issues and cars became a relevant component of modern life increasing even further the atmosphere pollution. Therefore, in my opinion, the main solution is to set incentives to decentralise work opportunities and develop towns to smaller urban centres where there is still a possibility to maintaining a balance between the proportion of buildings and nature. Luckily, decentralization is more possible than ever, because technology has brought the possibility, for several professionals, to work anywhere. At the same time, there are other measures that could help to improve air quality, for example, by regulating the use of petrol as combustive and making it more accessible to buy electric cars. In conclusion, we have to face the reality that urban lifestyle has generated an impressive issue with environmental healthy and it is, not only important, but also urgent to minimize the impact before it is too late.