Wild animals have no use in the 21st century and trying to preserve animals now is just a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often said that it is unnecessary for people to save wild animals in the modern world because they serve no purpose. While I accept that governments and conservation organizations spend a huge amount of money conserving creatures, I believe that wildlife plays a crucial role in the modern life On the one hand, wild beasts have a great impact on today's society. To begin with, in terms of the environment, it is undeniable that wildlife help balances the ecosystem. When we allowed endangered species to die out, it means that they are taken out of the food chain, leading beasts that eat the newly-extinct species to find new foodstuff sources to live. Moreover, if a predator becomes extinct, its prey population can proliferate, resulting in dramatic changes in the balance in nature. Yellowstone wild park is a case in point. The disappearance of wolves leads herbivores such as elk to thrive, resulting in the destruction of many plant species, soil erosion and various chain effects. Regardless of humans, many types of creatures or plants are food sources, some animals even act as a buffer against diseases. Without them means that people have to face food scarcity and are more likely to suffer from certain illnesses. On the other hand, it is true that a huge amount of money is spent on wild animal protection programmes annually. Governments and conservation organizations need to put more resources into training and paying for scientists and employees. Moreover, many facilities such as zoos, national parks and wildlife reserves also need to be built, and this will be a huge amount of expense. In conclusion, although preserving wild animals could cost a lot of money, it seems to me that it is necessary for people to protect the environment and wildlife.