Tourism has increased so much over the last 50 years that it is having a mainly negative impact on local inhabitants and the environment. However, others claim that it is good for the economy. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give your own opinion.

It is certainly true that tourism generates huge sums of money and for many countries in the world, it is the main resource for the government budget. Local economies all around the world are very dependent on the influx of travellers every year, particularly with regard to local employment. However, there are environmental and social costs and other risks to tourism as major source of annual income. Personally, I believe that tourism has mainly a positive effect on local people, but there are some things that should be adjusted to minimize the damage to the environment. At the outset, some critics say that the ecological situation in the world is getting worse and worse, and, of course, partly it happens because they believe that till now, many governments have not implemented any strict policy to monitor the number of tourists travelling to a certain location. As a consequence, not only the natural places but also the residents of these sites are suffering from many ecological and social problems such as cultural loss. For instance, due to the lack of attention from authorities around one-fifth of the area of Pushkin’s national reserve has been occupied by hotels and café shops. In addition, the travellers are becoming more and more capricious, they are not just satisfied with ancient architecture, they want something exclusive, like unique places of vital eco-system, especially those fragile areas of Antarctica. On the other hand, one of the main benefits of tourists is the foreign currency spent in the countries which helps the economy immensely. People today can afford to travel as it has become more convenient. Thus, people spend money easily. Many people will get jobs and occupations in this industry. For instance, countries like Cuba have a significant number of folks employed in the hotel industry as a result. Apart from the economic benefits, the exposure of the rich culture to the world will be a vital advantage. To sum up, international travelling is a product of the modern age and we should all be thankful and grateful for its possibility. Although, governments still should enhance regulations and laws to mitigate the negative issues. I am absolutely sure that it will allow the country to enjoy the benefits of travellers from all over the world.