Many countries are experiencing population growth and need more homes. Should these new homes be constructed in existing cities or should new towns be built in the countryside?

The Majority of countries are seeing growth in their population and are in need of new housing. They can either build more houses in cities or open new towns in empty land. I believe they focus on new lands rather than expanding already crowded cities. Firstly, opening up new places helps create cheaper housing, which is great for new families as they may not have much savings. Another factor is that the government can make better plans for new cities, learning from their past mistakes, rather than continuing in an existing infrastructure with many flaws. Also, as the people of those new districts will need access to shops and services, it will result in the opening of new business opportunities and job positions. On top of that, the government could experiment with the city, like new transportation methods, run everything on green energy, or new smart technologies. Some examples could be China’s new drone delivery methods that deliver ordered food while its still hot or Tesla’s underground tunnels for cars that help people avoid traffic jams. Next, there will be many issues with creating new housing in existing cities. Main problem is that they are already overcrowded, and most houses have been destroyed to open up space for apartment buildings. Streets are filled with cars, creating long traffic. Therefore, if there were to be new houses for sale, they would be very expensive as there is high demand. Or, there may not be land altogether, leaving only parks and historical buildings, which is essential for a city to have. Air pollution is also a problem, too. Although there may be some benefits in the city, as public facilities such as hospitals, schools, and emergency services are already functional there. In conclusion, the advantages of starting in remote areas outweigh those of continuing in a city. Giving possibilities for an even better, improved, and eco-friendly district.