People believe that being literate in English allows you to acquire better jobs and thus allows one to have access to a better standard of living.

Having English language knowledge or the ability to speak and write, and read is considered a sure-shot way to get high-paying jobs.Well is it a reality or myth depends upon lots of factors like whether you belong to English speaking country or region, whether English is used in corporates in your area. Maybe English is the second language in your country.Let us discuss this topic and figure out whether the opinion is correct or false. Firstly English as a language is widely spoken around the globe. whether it's Europe, North America, Australia or Asia. English as a business language is widely spread. Even Hollywood makes movies in English. English as a language is taught in various countries in which its a secondary language for example China. This is because most corporates worldwide use it for communication and interaction between employees., Secondly There are lots of other languages which are widely used and spoken, for example, French, Spanish, German, Swahili etc. having knowledge of this language is considered a skill. Which any individual has to acquire by learning it. For,example French is considered a widely used language in France but in Canada is also used by a large section of the population in the province of Quebec. If you want a job in Quebec you must know french. To conclude this, having knowledge of English or being literate in English always opens doors to many opportunities across the globe. Countries like India are taking advantage of it. As a whole It industry and bpo industry creates high-paying job for young English -speaking graduates. So I strongly agree with the statement that English literature has better opportunities for jobs across the globe and which paves way for a higher standard of living for them.