Write about the following topic: An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What can be done to deal with this situation? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Professionals such as doctors and teachers are increasingly emigrating from less developed nations to find better jobs in more advanced ones. Although several problems result from this, solutions are on hand to address them. To begin with, an exodus of migrating professionals creates an immediate brain drain in a country with causes several issues. First, it damages the economy as there are fewer workers paying taxes, particularly income tax. This reduces the amount of revenue a government receives which in turn affects national development and innovation. Secondly, when a country’s top workers go overseas, it can lead to a shortage of key skilled workers in a nation which may worsen living conditions. For example, since the start of the century, the departure of medical professionals and educators has caused waiting lists and class sizes in some Eastern European countries to double in size. To mitigate this situation, solutions need to be both short and long-term. Governments can begin by attracting highly-skilled foreign workers to replace those that have been lost. By offering incentives such as higher wages and better living conditions, nations would be able to ensure that citizens had reliable access to doctors and educators and enhance local competitiveness. In the long run, governments could encourage businesses to invest in labour productivity, with a view to boosting the skills of employees and helping raise salaries. In turn, higher wages would greater result in taxable income which may be used to develop the country further. In conclusion, by attracting foreign professionals through incentives and improving the labour market, governments may hope to slow the brain drain that is affecting many less-developed countries.