In the past, important knowledge about culture and history was stored in museums. Nowadays, information is freely available on the Internet; therefore, there is no longer any need for museums. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In a digital age, where an increasing amount of information is stored on the Internet, there has arisen a voice that museums, once serving as information centres, have become superfluous. Although the opinion sounds seemingly plausible, it has overlooked an essential fact that information consists of not only knowledge but also vivid feelings, which explains why museums are still necessary. Despite defending the preservation of museums, the essay can partially understand the concerns of those who support the abolition of museums. One of the primary reasons is that on the Internet individuals can access most of their knowledge about culture and history at a negligible cost, which is a field in which museums have no competence compared to the Internet. What can be an example of this perspective is my personal experience in Yangzhou, when I needed to collect information on jade articles for my dissertation, but the local museums lacked related information. However, on the Internet what I was searching for was available without any effort, since researchers had uploaded that informationinformation onto the Internet. This, to some extent, can illustrate that museums are not in favour of the field of information storage and retrieval. However, as has been mentioned, this flaw does not eclipse museums ' peculiar advantage that they not only provide knowledge but also provoke strong emotions deriving from direct interaction with antiques, which cannot be substituted by surfing the Internet. In The Story of Arts, a book by Gombrich who is an eminent art theorist, what is repeatedly reclaimed is that "Art is definitely not merely a kind of knowledge, it is also closely connected with humans' feelings." The essay totally agrees with the judgement as it persuasively explains why people still go to the Louvre to appreciate the sculpture of Venus, when almost every postcard has been printed with that. It is the feelings inspired by these arts preserved in museums that continually attract people to museums. Hence, as a place providing people with an opportunity to directly face antiques, they are irrefutably worth remaining. In summary, although the Internet has replaced museums in their role of preserving information, museums are still peculiar as they provide visitors with a chance to be moved by antiques, which cannot be achieved on the Internet.