Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not overpopulation is the major cause of the present poor environmental situation. Personally, I totally agree with this statement because of the impact on environmental issues such as global warming, as well as, on the phenomenon of sinking landscapes. Hence, in this essay, I will extensively explain the reasons to support this based on real-life examples. At the outset, overpopulation may contribute to the rising problem of global warming, which can be seen increasing significantly these days. Moreover, with the growing number of Earth’s inhabitants, the production of greenhouse gases continues to grow every day. In addition, these emissions are mostly the result of human activities like burning fossil fuels for producing electricity. For instance, three years ago, one famous magazine has an article, claiming that greenhouse gases make up to 40% of our entire atmosphere and contribute to a rising atmospheric temperature of around 3 degrees Celsius. Furthermore, recent research suggests that the expanding population have adverse effects on the environment and leads to cities and islands sinking around the globe. It is evident from these discoveries, that many areas that are above the ground are now sinking rapidly. Undoubtedly, this happens because people keep trying to build housing in order to accommodate the escalating sum of inhabitants. Eventually, leading to landslides and other natural catastrophes. In conclusion, although there are many people who argue if overpopulation deserves more attention for harming our environment. Based on the above examples, I still believe that the climbing number of people is a significant concern to the environment and could lead to more severe environmental issues.