In some culture, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message.

Some societies believe it is positive to tell children that anything can be achieved by trying hard enough, whereas others think that this message has more negative effects on them. This essay will discuss the drawbacks and advantages of this statement. One of the disadvantages of this method is the pressure put on children by their parents and elders. In some countries, parents vigorously advocate to their children that they will excel in their academic performances if they study day and night. This puts enormous pressure on children, which sometimes leads to them not achieving the expected results, and afterwards, they are often blamed by their parents for not studying hard enough. Secondly, children get depressed and start behaving in an anti-social manner. Despite working hard when children fail in a task multiple times, they sometimes do not receive the support of their parents or elders. Moreover, resulting in children becoming depressed and developing aggressive behaviour towards society and its culture & norm because they feel being looked down upon by people due to their failure. This negatively affects the mental health of children, which can have a detrimental impact on their development in the future. The advantages of reinforcing this positive message are many, with two being especially important: developing strong work ethics and boosting self-confidence in children. It is widely known that hard work is the key to success. By creating this habit in children at an early age, they understand the value of hard work and sacrifice to achieve something great in their lifetime, and continue with this value as they progress in life. The other advantage is that it will enhance the self-confidence in children to aim for higher goals and to work hard to achieve this since their self-belief system will always tell them that anything is possible. There are many examples of talented people who have achieved extraordinary fame and success and constantly reflect on the hard yard they put in when they were young (children) to become exceptionally good at what they do. In conclusion, although there are certain drawbacks of this value which puts pressure on the children affecting their mental state and development, however, if proper support and guidance is provided, it will have positive benefits for them in terms of their cognitive and skills development.