With the increased global demand for oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

With the increasing global demand for oil and gas due to population growth and limited resources, some say that unexplored locations should be used to extract resources. While this helps with energy shortages and boosts economic growth, it also causes many serious environmental concerns. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument before concluding whether the risks outweigh the advantages. On one hand, oil and gas are the world's primary sources of energy. As demand increases, countries need to maintain these supplies to avoid blackouts and energy shortages. With the help of exploring new locations to obtain more resources, these countries can avoid these problems. Moreover, the increase in oil and gas availability leads to reduced fuel prices for consumers and businesses. For instance, the reduced price of gas and oil allows consumers to spend less on these resources, making transportation and electricity more affordable, which also leads to positive global economic growth. On the other hand, oil and gas are finite resources, which means they will eventually run out even if they are being extracted. Furthermore, the burning of fossil fuels creates air pollution and global warming, causing more greenhouse gases and putting people in polluted cities at risk. For example, individuals who live in a big city may face breathing issues and lung problems, causing asthma, and in some cases, even death. In conclusion, even though exploration may provide a short-term energy advantage, these resources will eventually run out. Furthermore, this energy also creates a lot of pollution, which causes more harm than good.