In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some countries, parents say to their children to try hard so that they can get a certain goal. This mindset has several pros and cons which will discuss in this essay. If children have a particular goal, perseverance is the key to getting a result. Having the discipline to do something whether it is interesting or not requires a lot of effort from them. For example, preparing for difficult exams, such as the SAT is hard for high school graduates since they have to ignore particular leisure activities. Although it is hard to take exams and say "NO" to all fun activities, the reward is high that affects the rest of their lives. On the other hand, even though juniors try hard, sometimes it turns out that they don't have a talent for a particular subject. In this case, it affects their self-esteem. For instance, math is the primary subject of higher education. However, many children don't like calculating, they might be good at other activities like sports and art. Pushing them into subjects that are considered important for many people may decrease their confidence levels. In conclusion, there are two contradictory views on pushing youths to try hard or not. Although it is an effective mindset to get certain goals, there is also a flaw that makes younger ones have lower self-esteem.