Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

In recent years, advertisements have gained massive popularity in daily life. I personally believe that this trend is both benefits and drawbacks. There are two major disadvantages of advertising. The first drawback is increasing the fee for products. For instance, an organisation has to spend a huge amount of money on bulletins, leaflets or posters which leads to an increase in the cost of their commodities and services. As a result, customers have to not only pay money for goods themselves but also pay for advertising. Secondly, watching adverts encourages people to buy things that they do not really need. Take Apple’s marketing and advertising campaigns as a case in point. These campaigns have a great influence on the spending habits of young people such as many of today’s youth long to own the latest version of the iPhone even though their old phones still function. Despite the negatives mentioned above, advertisements bring a wide range of benefits. This activity provides customers with information about their selling objects or services. Therefore, people can make better shopping choices. For example, by watching tv commercials about different brands of shampoo, I can choose the one that works best for me. Besides, advertising can raise people’s awareness and knowledge about product development. It helps them enlarge their knowledge about technology. Take my nephew as an example. He knows a lot about technological devices such as smartphones or the iPad because he watches many adverts about digital gadgets on tv. In conclusion, in my opinion, adverts have both positive and negative effects.