Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment such as coursework and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the pattern of assessing a student’s performance has changed. Earlier, formal examinations were the cornerstone of assessment which has now been taken over by projects and coursework. Though, some people view this change as unsatisfactory, it is disagreed by many, including myself which is elaborated in the following paragraphs. Firstly, this contemporary way of continual assessment not only analyses the theoretical knowledge but also gives equal importance to a practical understanding of the same topic. To illustrate, while doing projects students need to have an in-depth understanding of the subject. Therefore, while marking students based on these project works, teachers are able to better judge the aptitude of a child. Secondly, if we compare both these assessment types, the scope of using unfair means in formal examinations is more. For example, many students are found cheating during these exams in order to score more because the final results are entirely based on these examinations. Moreover, the exam stress students face while preparing for these examinations is a subject of concern. Consequently, many students lose weight and have inadequate sleep during these exams which results in deteriorated health. Thus, the continual assessment takes place all throughout the academic year which in turn reduces the performance pressure on the students. To summarise, apart from increasing comprehension of a topic, projects and coursework also promote the mental and physical well-being of pupils. Therefore, I wholeheartedly disagree with the notion of regarding continual assessment as inadequate in evaluating the scholastic performance of students. Moreover, judging a student’s mental ability only by conducting end-year examinations is incomplete.