Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for telhe environment. What damages does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by government and individuals to solve this problem?

Over the past few decades, there has been a drastic enhancement in the usage of plastic items such as plastic polybags, plastic food packaging materials, and plastic water bottles. One cannot deny the fact that the immense use of anything and everything brings some adverse consequences. In this essay, I will elicit the harmful effects of such excessive usage of plastic materials and provide mitigates to reduce its impact. It is true that plastic -made packaging goods are convenient and cheaper ways of delivering loaves of bread and drinks to the customer. Also, these packaging materials are generally for one-time use and major concern arises at the time of disposal of such items. For instance, a study conducted by various researchers declared that a number of masses dump these plastic bags and bottles in water and its toxic elements contaminated the water. This is ultimately resulting in the extinction of various sea species and animals. Furthermore, if such plastics are burned, chemicals released from polymers on land cause soil erosion or soil pollution. Apart from this, it also results in air pollution when burned. Consequently, these air pollutants cause serious health concerns to the nearby inhabitants. Irrespective of several restrictions imposed by the government, plastic carry bags are still available in the consumer market. I would like to suggest that the central government should levy high penal charges on the producers who manufacture such items and provide subsidy to the manufacturing concerns that promotes eco-friendly products such as cloth bags and paper bags. In addition to this, the local authorities should organise seminars in colleges and other educational institutions to spread awareness among the public about the negative effects of polymers and plastics. Besides this, it is the duty of every individual to follow the rules and regulations formulated by the health minister from time to time strictly. In light of the above discussion, I would like to recommend that a strong will and concerted efforts of every individual and government can go a long way in tackling this serious issue