Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Over the last few decades, medical science developed at a very rapid speed and cures are invented for most diseases. With these advancements knowledge of this field is also spread among people. Now, people try to take different medicines and use other methods of treatment from their own experiences rather than consulting regular doctors. This way of treatment should be discouraged because it has negative effects on health. In this essay, I will give reasons with examples to clarify this statement. To begin with, people generally don't know the root cause of their problem and they use medicine on the basis of their previous experiences which is very dangerous for any patient. For example, if anyone goes to the doctor for pain in the head after a check-up, a doctor finds out that his blood pressure is high which is why he is feeling pain in the head and he gave tablets to decrease the high blood pressure. Hence, in future maybe this patient again take the same tablet for headaches which will affect his blood pressure and as a result, he may face serious health problems. Secondly, different methods of treatment are suitable for different patients. Sometimes people take advice from others regarding their problems and as per their, recommendation they start treating their own problems that are also completely wrong because maybe the first patient has the same symptoms but the actual cause of the problem is different. therefore, by acting on his advice he may get into trouble instead of solving it. On the other hand, people also argue that some diseases have the same treatments all over the world and they don't have to go to doctors and take medicine at home to treat them. like, panadol is used for headaches all over the world but still for more complicated issues that model does not work. In conclusion, people use medicines on their own instead of going to doctors. this practice is generally incorrect because doctors are trained professionals and only they have the required skill set to identify and treat health issues. Personally, I think by taking things into their own hands people always are at risk and something really bad can happen to them or to whom they are suggesting.