Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is argued that lots of people tend to work for themselves, instead of working for other companies and institutions today. Here are some specific reasons for that and it has presented several challenges for them. When it comes to self-employment, the tendency toward this phenomenon is rooted in a couple of causes that are worth mentioning. First and foremost, it results in being independent in terms of financial affairs. In this regard, the private sector appears and many enterprises are established. So, governments do not play a critical role in this section and they are not deeply affected by governmental decisions. For example, the majority of state jobs were banned from going to work during COVID-19, while some other occupations were active in Iran. Moreover, it is possible that these kinds of personalities can not tolerate higher managers' commands. Therefore, they prefer to have an autonomous job. On the other hand, it has several demerits such as more occupational uncertainty and being excluded from some services. Firstly, private crafts are on the verge of bankruptcy in a strong recession. For instance, many local stores were closed due to the high rate of inflation which unleashed stagnation in Iran over decades. In addition to that, all employees benefit from insurance and organisational physicians, while people have to purchase these services by themselves. For example, insurance expenses in Iran are as much as 15000 $ which is relatively high. In conclusion, Although many individuals are of the opinion that the benefits of self-employed crafts outweigh those of being employed by others, So, they fancy working independently. However, it originated from different reasons and has specific disadvantages.