Today more people are overweight than ever before. What in your opinion are the primary causes of this? What are the main effects of this epidemic?

As we come into the new millennium, obesity is gradually becoming a ubiquitous disease among today’s residents. In my opinion, the inactive lifestyle and imbalanced diet are the roots of such a phenomenon and this ongoing trend would bring about various potential downsides. On the one hand, myriad rationales are to blame for the proliferation of obese population. To commence with, due to the infinitely speedier technological evolution, humans no longer have to put effort on some physical actions like walking since they tend to rely on electric devices such as cars or lifts. In other words, not only might civilians encounter the risk of losing their momentum for taking exercises, but they can also lead a sedentary lifestyle with less physical demands at work and far more passive leisure activities thanks to their internet-connected mobile devices. Another noteworthy mention is that residents are more likely to eschew home-cooked dishes in favour of junk food and sugar-sweetened products which are usually low in nutritive and contain diverse addictive ingredients, whereby, individuals might consume a great deal of high-calorie food and become overweight. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that human beings would suffer from loads of detrimental disadvantages. First and foremost, due to the excessive consumption of processed food and carbonated beverages, citizens might get addicted to these products and increase the percentage of body fat, which would worsen the person’s metabolism and therefore trigger some chronic illnesses such as heart disease or diabetes and even contribute to a mass number of deaths in worst-case scenarios. Moreover, most overweight people are at an increased risk of shouldering a huge strain stemming from irregular diet and inappropriate living routine, with that said, it could reduce their work capacity and result in poorer performance since they no longer could pay all attention to fulfil their tasks. In conclusion, inactive lifestyle and overconsumption of rich-in-fat products are some major culprits begetting this obesity epidemic, which would drag individuals and society into acutely serious situations.