In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an aging population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if a society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an aging population outweigh the disadvantages?

Recently there has been an argument going on among notions regarding whether an upward trend of having aged or old people is a good sign for society or not. Some believe that this can result in various drawbacks, while others hold the belief that these individuals might be beneficial for a community in some ways. Personally, I am a firm believer that the disadvantages of this statement outweigh its benefits in a variety of aspects. First and foremost, by having a majority of elders, society has to provide various hospitals and caring places in order to take care of these groups of people in many aspects such as their medications as well as their mental health. This statement would become an issue in the long run, which can make governments spend most of the money coming from taxes to be spent on providing health care places. In other words, there would be no rooms left for other facilities like schools for children or workplaces. In addition to that, these hospitals require a vast majority of doctors and staff to work, which may be a concerning issue for governments to provide a proper number of professionals in this field. While elders can be beneficial to adolescents regarding their life and work experience, they would not be eligible to work since they require care and help 24/7, which can become problematic. Furthermore, if the number of ageing individuals increases, societies will face a lack of workforce. Lack of a proper workforce will put a country in serious danger. For instance, in China, the number of elders is growing rapidly each year due to their large population. Therefore, this country is facing difficulties in their working industry, and as a result of that, youngsters have to work more than usual to fully satisfy the needs of companies, which makes them tired and can not work efficiently. To sum up, I strongly believe that the growth in the ageing population might not be a good sign for communities, since this group of people are now retired and need great help, which can cause serious problems for a country.