The world today is a safer place than it was a hundred years ago, and governments should stop spending large amounts of money on their armed forces. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often argued that the safety of our world nowadays is the best since a long time ago and policymakers should not waste the state's money trying to build a great army. I completely agree with that opinion and think that armies are not important as they were in the past. First of all, I believe that the last world war was about sixty years ago. Even if there are some wars today on a small scale, those conflicts' styles are extremely different from old conflicts. Now governments are much more busy doing other things such as investing in infrastructure and education. For example, Switzerland has no military and it will never be invaded because it has very strong diplomatic relationships, so it can benefit from that money and become a better place to live. That is why it is more important to direct all of the nation's capital to useful things rather than creating a useless army. Secondly, I see that a nation that wants to be strong and safe should invest in technology especially computers and communication systems. In other words, if a country provides advanced technological equipment to the world it will not be threatened as it has a strategic thing that no nation can live without. For instance, the United States of America has been the largest technology provider in the world since 1930, so it can just protect itself by preventing other people from its advanced systems and it will not need to use its army and waste all that wealth on it. Thus, a strong nation is one that has the latest technology and not one which has a mighty army. To conclude, I strongly believe that there is no need to waste our gross domestic product to have the ultimate army. However, this money should be used to improve our quality of life in several ways.