Overpopulation of many urban centres around the world is a major problem. What are the causes of this and how can this problem be solved?

Many urban centres become the possible choice for people to live in even though they are crowded and far enough from business districts. There are some reasons for this phenomenon and this essay will elaborate on them, including reasonable solutions. Firstly, overpopulation in the urban areas is caused by the expensive price of land in the centre of the capital city. Therefore, employees could not afford to buy houses or apartments near their office in the business centre area. For instance, to date the land price in the capital city of Indonesia reach IDR 20 million per metre and to have a comfortable house, one needs at least 72 metres zone. Hence, a person needs to provide around IDR 1,44 billion for it and it does not include the building yet. The other reason is there is not enough space in the capital zone to build a residence for all the communities as the number of people is much higher than the large available space. Secondly, the solutions that probably could be implemented to cover the above issues are the availability of sufficient and proper infrastructures and public transportation in places. Distance could be not a problem if people could reach their workplaces smoothly or without bad traffic jams. For example, a worker only needs 40 minutes to get into the office which is 35 kilometres from his/her residence by using the train. To conclude, living in urban areas could probably not be avoided by societies due to limited land compared to the number of residents. On the other hand, the existence of government incorporated with private sectors to provide sufficient access and support system in transportation makes a person feels comfortable living far from the capital one.