Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The main aim of advertising is to make people aware of something new which may be either necessary to know or not. Regarding the aforementioned fact, some believe that advertisements have been so successful at persuading us to buy commodities, while others opine that advertisements are so common, and because of that people do not take them seriously. In the following, I am going to discuss both ideas and elucidate my own verdict. To begin with, it is crystal clear that seldom has a successive and long-term advertisement not been successful in gathering laymen’s attention now that when you encounter many times an advertisement which tries to convince you having a good is essential, you will think that maybe you need that good although before watching or hearing that announcement you knew that this commodity is extra. For instance, as far as I know, some research which has been done in the United States has proved the persuading effects of some successive advertisements. However, every day we encounter various types of announcements in that watching or hearing them is not something new or special. Besides, the majority of individuals skip the internet or web advertisements. For example, a number of scientists have proved the inefficiency of pop-up ads which can be skipped by cellphone users. Personally, I agree with both notions because on the one hand, a number of published articles have discussed advertisement imperialism, and in some of them, it has been confessed that the effects of announcements on our minds are beyond the borders of imagination. On the other hand, because watching some ads, especially internet-based ones is not obligatory some laymen ignore them and do not care about them. Therefore, although the role of advertising can not be refused, the success rate of an announcement depends on the way it is shown to the public. To sum up, regarding the success rate of advertising at persuading the public to purchase things, two vantage points were discussed and I agreed with both of them because of the reasons that have been presented in the above paragraphs.