Some people are happy to spend the whole of their life living in the same area. However, others prefer to live in many different areas over their life time. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

While a number of individuals prefer to stay in the same neighbourhood forever, others like to travel around and change their dwellings with time due to many reasons. In this essay, I will discuss both these sides along with my personal opinion which is more tilted towards the latter. For many folks living in the same area for a long time provides a sense of safety, stability and familiarity. In other words, having lived in the same place for an extended time means that the person is familiar with the public around and knows the area well. They form a bond with the community and develop a social responsibility towards their society which makes them reluctant to leave. For example, billionaire Warren Buffett has lived in the same house since 1958 because according to him he is 'happy here'. Therefore, living in the same place gives one mental peace and a sense of belonging. On the other hand, some individuals consider living in one area for a lifetime rather boring and detrimental because it steals the excitement of exploring and meeting new people. Furthermore, for many their current city or country lacks career opportunities in their field of expertise which bounds them to move. For instance, in India, many engineers suffer from unemployment and decide to move to other countries in search of jobs and many youngsters leave their towns or villages to shift to metropolitan cities in hopes of having a better future. Moving to a new location broadens their mental horizon as they break free from the cocoon they have lived in since birth and help to develop their people skills. To conclude, although staying in a familiar region is appealing to many people because it serves the basic nature of humans which is to be a part of a community yet changing locations has greater benefits as it provides a chance for self-development and learning new skills. Hence, in my opinion, we should not confine ourselves to a locality and explore as much as possible because we never know what lies ahead.