People after retirement often require financial assistance. Some think the government should be responsible for this, while others believe individuals should make provisions for themselves. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

After retiring, individuals need financial support. Some believe that it is a responsibility of governments to help them, while others believe that they ought to provide it by their own. Although some governments cannot afford to give financial support to their retired individuals, I believe that governments should give them assistance because they dedicated a significant era of their lives serving their nation. On the one hand, some believe that retired individuals should provide financial support by their own because government do not have enough budget to support them. In other words, the number of retirees are increasing day after day, and it needs a lot of money to support them, which is a big issue in front of other important projects of a country. In Afghanistan, for example, because of financial crisis government cannot support their retired individuals and they have to decrease budget of health sector to support them. However, I believe that government should support their retired individuals. On the other hands, others believe that governments are responsible to give financial support to their retired individuals because they dedicated an important era of their lives to serve their country. That is to say, when they were young and had energy they worked for their country in a low salary, which was very challenging for them to save it for their future needs. For example, teachers in Afghanistan, worked several decades in a low salary and need financial support after retirement for their basic needs. For this reason, I believe that governments should give financial help to their retired citizens. In conclusion, some think that governments are not responsible for financial help to their retired individuals because governments cannot afford it, while others believe that governments are responsible for that because retired citizens spend a significant period of their time serving their country.