Young people in the workforce are changing their jobs or career every a few years. What do you think are the reasons? Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With modern society developing at a pace faster than ever imagined, it prevails in the workforce that employees keep switching careers. This trend might stem from people’s desire for better livelihood and contribute to the overall prosperity of both individuals and society. Internally, employees prefer jobs with better prospects (encompassing various aspects). To start with, employees would pursue positions with higher salaries, regular pay rises, adequate benefit packages and sound retirement plans, all of which could help team members feel financially secure. Furthermore, professional development is another determinant affecting one’s career path design. Better compatibility with team members and management and a sense of recognition is also desirable for an ideal job since these can lead to positive reinforcement of desirable workplace behaviour, and thus career advancement. Externally, under the threat of digitization of the workplace, a certain amount of people are forced out from the industry they are in to align their skills to other growth industries, which means risks of being made redundant by automation and requires a high level of resilience, adaptability and a passion for lifelong upskilling and reskilling. It would definitely be refreshing for those who are under conditions like long working hours, poor work-life balance and excess responsibilities to unwind themselves at regular intervals between jobs, otherwise they may experience burnout and mental or physical fatigue, which would be detrimental to one’s long-term career development. However, it’s also essential to bear in mind that competition in today’s workforce requires a totally different skill set than it was several years ago, so always remembering to leverage the skillset gained from previous jobs across your next job is more vital for avoiding the feeling of undervalued or underutilized. To recapitulate, use short breaks between jobs to rest and more importantly to be more versatile, and you could benefit from changing jobs. Admittedly, increasingly higher employee turnover has posed great pressure on companies. Lower retention means a constant need for employee training, which would definitely drive productivity and quality down. Especially with the advancement in remote work, a new dynamic that employee has more power in negotiating better working conditions and work-life balance has formed, prompting businesses to rethink their approach to hiring and retention. Consequently, only companies that can adapt quickly to this change and better satisfy the needs of properly skilled talents could succeed. This would undoubtedly be hard for those companies struggling to make a profit while maintaining productivity and quality, however, ignoring such trends would be even more torturous.