Some people think that competitive sports have a positive effect on the education of teenagers while others argue that the effect is negative. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are conflicting opinions regarding whether competitive sports are beneficial to teenagers. This essay will analyze arguments on both sides before deducting my personal opinion. On the one hand, competitive sports allow youths to experience their growing in skills step by step, therefore encourage them to become practical and perseverant. To be more specific, in order to win in sports competition, teenagers need to keep practicing their skills and learn lessons from every practice. For example, a badminton player would need to receive a training of non-stop running for 10 kilometers as well as practicing the same technical move over hundreds of times on a daily basis, in an attempt to develop their skills of the badminton gradually. Such arduous processes will teach teenagers that growing and success are the results from perseverance and hard working. Therefore, they will have a stronger heart and be able to constantly apply themselves when having a clear target in their future life. On the other hand, teenagers would also become too goal-oriented if too much emphasis is placed on the final result. Young people playing sports usually represent their school in competitions. If this is the case, in order to achieve the satisfying result, their coaches would put too much pressures on them, which can make them believe that winning is extremely important and they would achieve goal at any cost. Later in their adult life, they would reckon that achieve the desire goal or not is the only way to estimate career success. If they fail to achieve the goal they want, they would feel unworthy or even stressful, which will have a negative impact on their working performance. In conclusion, I feel that the impact of competitive sports depends on how teenagers and their coach approach it. teenagers will benefit from sports if they focus on developing their skills rather than the result. Whereas if the only meaning to teenager of sports is just to win, sports competitions would be detrimental to children’s future life.