Prevention of health problems and illness is more important than treatment and medicine. Government funding should reflect this. To what extent do you agree?

Many people believe that focused efforts on eradicating causes of health issues and illness can be more cost-effective than spending a humongous amount of money on remedies and treatments. In my opinion, the government should allocate appropriate funding towards the prevention of various diseases to ensure that people do not fall ill. Firstly, the authorities must work to promote a healthy lifestyle. For example, they must take necessary steps to control or stop the unhealthy diet habits of their citizens. One way this can be achieved is by charging a high rate of taxes or by banning all food and drinks that can lead to serious health issues. For instance, in Gujarat, consumption or possession of alcohol is completely banned, and heavy penalties are imposed on law-breakers. The introduction of such strict measures can help in reducing the chances of health risks. Secondly, by spending funds towards health awareness campaigns the government can make people aware of the severe consequences of unhealthy habits like smoking. A good example of this is, in India, all cigarette boxes mandatorily have a picture of affected lungs with a clear message “smoking is injurious to health ”. So, every time a person buys a pack they think twice about the consequences of smoking. Therefore, this led to a 30% drop in the sales of cigarettes in India in 2019 as reported in the Times of India. Thus, it is quite evident that the government’s funding towards controlling health issues is effective. A lot of people ’s lives can be saved through the introduction of rigorous policies and public education campaigns. In addition, people will not fall sick and a lot of money can be saved by reducing the burden on public healthcare facilities.