With advancing technology, the development of automated vehicles is becoming reality. In your opinion, what are the advantages and disadvantages of self-driving vehicles?

The increasing advancements in automated transport are becoming more and more common in today's world. Several benefits could emerge from this popular trend, however, some negative outcomes could also prove harmful to our society. Potential advantages such as lower rates of traffic accidents and the avoidance of driving-related mental struggles could come up with the rise of automated vehicles. For instance, avoiding human interaction when commuting to work or school could not only simplify traffic jams but also former drivers could enjoy the ride without stressing out about the possible outcomes. Further, it has been researched that the inclusion of automation in public transport could similarly decrease the rates of traffic congestion in major cities. Some disadvantages such as granting excessive trust to automation could also not only negatively impact the world's automobile industry but also deprive users of enjoyable trips. For example, if all automobile rides were to be handled by artificial intelligence there would be no room for specialised professionals to develop and design new car features. Moreover, pleasurable driving would also be lost depriving individuals of their favourite activities. That is, tourists who would traditionally get off driving their previous cars on weekends or holidays would no longer be able to do so anymore. To sum up, impactful changes will come with self-driving transports, yet some drawbacks could also arise. Owing to the lack of the human touch further struggles in the transportation system could be prevented, however, some parts of society such as certified professionals and ex-drivers could also suffer from this modern shift.