Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on your children. Do you agree or disagree?

It is widely discussed whether the outcome of daily use of digital devices has more harmful than beneficial consequences for young generations. I strongly believe this behaviour has plenty more constructive than adverse effects on children. In the following paragraphs, this essay will discuss the use of PCs as a powerful tool to support education in the classroom and at home, and the importance they have in developing digital skills for the future job market. On the one hand, computers have developed over time, since they were only used by large organizations at the beginning until today’s adoption in daily life; as such, any kind of digital device has transformed into a powerful tool for backing learning not only at school but also at home. In the classroom, MacBooks, laptops, and tablets are essential to support the delivery of daily classes, providing access to books, study material and exercises online. Furthermore, they have replaced paper to write essays and complete homework, which are requested as an important part of their study process. For instance, in my children’s school, the daily usage of computers is mandatory, since paper books and notebooks have been discontinued and all the supporting educational material is accessed online. On the other hand, laptops and tablets are of great importance to developing the digital skills that will be required to succeed in their future profession. Computer literacy will be crucial, and it will be key to completing any daily activities, from written and verbal communication to the use of tools and applications to support business development and success. For example, as a Telecommunication engineer, it would be impossible for me to work without a computer, since e-mails, phone calls, conferences, meetings, and every single activity relies on their use. Moreover, I was hired because of my deep computing knowledge, more than my engineering degree. In conclusion, there are more positive than negative effects on your children when using a digital device daily. Computers have become powerful tools to back not only Children’s learning in school and at home but also to develop their digital skills for the future business market.