You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write papers. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Modern forms of communication have revolutionised our lives. However, some people opine modern communications implies hard copies are no longer required. I disagree with this. To begin with, most current forms of communication do not require paperwork. For instance, responding to messages via electronic mail and on social media platforms requires typing from the keypads on an electronic device. Similarly, there are avenues for people to also talk on phones by means of video or audio forms. It is apparent the activities that can be run without penning down any information. Hence, the idea that people can reach one another without the need for paperwork which I disagree with. On the other hand, the personal desires of people cannot be overlooked. For instance, My father appreciates handwritten notes compared with relaying messages to him on digital platforms. He believes it communicates thoughtfulness and he especially admires the effort put into leaving notes for him. Besides that, our ability to spell words is maintained when we do more writing on paper. This is because digital devices have autocorrect or auto spell that completes a word for the writer during typing. Consequently, breeding a generation with good speaking skills but poor writing of the English language. It is clear a lot of time and personal thinking goes into writing than just typing on devices which I agree is a means to show a person went the extra mile. To sum up, it is obvious current forms of communication have made life easier. Even so, I disagree it should completely substitute writing on paper. Hard copies have a special way of conserving our spelling ability.