It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Nowadays, it is common to see young teenage boys or girls working as a barista or selling newspapers. It has become popular for most adolescents to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. While there are various advantages and disadvantages of this trend, in this essay I will outline and discuss the salient features of either attending university immediately after school or taking a year off for pursuing a degree. Firstly, there are various advantages of taking a year off after school. There is a huge demand for young people who are willing to work at meagre wages at cafeterias, public libraries, and restaurants as waiters, and cashiers at a store. While this entails good communication skills and customer satisfaction, there is no requirement for a university degree to be hired. In other words, for example, high school graduates are taught about the harsh realities of life and how to make ends meet by working towards enrolling in their dream universities. Furthermore, they could also utilize the time in improving their reading skills and test-taking ability owing to the competitive nature of most public colleges. Once they achieve their target of attending their target university, they strive to excel with flying colours and hone the skills required to seek employment in the fields of their interests. For instance, they have more time to contemplate and decide on their major at the university. Conversely, on the other hand, taking a year off from education may vaporize important ideas, ethics and values taught at school from the minds of the individuals and thus make them less competitive than their peers who had probably enrolled a year ago. Although taking a year off may help the students financially to fund their own education making them self-dependent, there could be various events unfolding in the year which could hinder or even prevent the students from attending college the following year. For instance, low test scores, unemployment and the loss of a family member may all be factors contributing to stress and depression among adolescents. Thus, to conclude although it is a smart move to take a year off between finishing school and attending university, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages and the students would be lagging behind and have to play catch up during the time when they attend university.