Some people believe that a person's culture is defined by their country of origin, while others believe that has only a minor influence. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether the original history of a nation can determine an individual's culture greatly. This essay will analyse the argument from both sides before deducting my personal opinion. On the one hand, people who believe a national origin can influence a person's culture considerably would provide the following reason. Generally speaking, the origin of a country more or less represents a nation's religious concepts which are part of the reasons why groups of people get together and establish an independent country. While it is not unusual that such beliefs in religion regulate its national inhabitants, about their lifestyles the rules needed to be followed. For example, many Muslim countries like Iran believe their countries are created by god and people living in these countries should follow certain instructions and dictations, such as headscarves on women's heads, to show their respect and faithfulness to their god. In other words, the way that a country was formed will influence this nation's policies or even laws, thus deciding the certain range of cultural lifestyles of national inhabitants. On the other hand, opponents to this way of thinking have their own opinion, which they can also easily justify. Since we are now living in a world of globalisation, we cannot deny that most parts of the world are muti-cultural nowadays. This would lead to the fact that people in these places are often exposed to different cultures via forms like music, movies or dressing and in turn are easily influenced by those. Nowadays, most Chinese, for instance, are wearing T-shirts and listening to pop music which are cultural products from western countries, while only a few still stick to wearing Chinese-style dresses or suits as well as traditional Chinese music. As a result, the origin of their own countries seems unappealing and irrelevant to them in terms of cultural influences. In conclusion, I believe that the impact of a country's origin on one's culture depends on the level of globalisation in this country. If a nation is not affected by cultural invasion and still sticks to its own culture, then the influences on individuals would be great. Whereas if a country is a highly cultural mosaic, then people's choice in cultural belief is unlikely to be affected by the history of its country.