Some people think that the government should strictly control the supply of fresh water, as it is a limited resource, while others it should not be regulated. Discuss both views.

Fresh water is one of the most valuable resources on the planet. Some believe the government should regulate its supply and usage, while others claim it should be unrestricted. This essay will first explore the reason behind governments overseeing the water supply, and second, it will discuss why some people are against strict regulation policies of this natural resource. On the one hand, governments are responsible for providing water to most of the population and controlling the supply by building dams, canals and large storage tanks. Authorities are accountable for administering this natural resource essential to the country's economy. Nations are aware that it is a limited resource and, therefore, must be regulated to ensure positive outcomes for the population. China and Europe have been battling water scarcity for the last decade, and recently, they have declared that several rivers are drying out. On the other hand, some people may feel that the government should not regulate freshwater reserves. Citizens have the right to fresh water, which is essential to life. In some countries like Egypt, water restrictive policies have proven unsuccessful; therefore, activists are imploring the authorities to devise alternative solutions to water regulation. For instance, a new urban development in Sydney has built two water networks to supply households. The first delivers fresh water for drinking purposes, while the second provides recycled water for irrigation, bathrooms and other purposes. Wastewater is then purified and returned to households as freshwater. In conclusion, some feel that authorities should devise alternative solutions to restricted water supply, while others consider this natural resource too precious and thus, governments should oversee it.