It is important for people to take risks, in both their professional lives and personal lives. Do the advantages of taking these risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Some specialists have suggested that in life, it is crucial to run risks and venture to the unknown, both at the working and private levels. This essay will argue that the advantages of this, namely stepping out of your comfort zone and pursuing new opportunities, are far greater than the drawbacks it may have, such as confronting the anxiety of dealing with uncertainty. There are significant advantages to taking risks, firstly committing to a long-term relationship with a partner, brings not only the feeling of fulfilment and satisfaction but also encourages an individual to get better at both physical and mental layers, leading to a better and happier life. Secondly, pursuing new working opportunities brings the satisfaction of facing new challenges, meeting new people and all the joy of following your dreams. For instance, when my family and I moved from Argentina to Australia, we were confronted with the challenge of a new language, a new culture, and starting all over again. Still, there are no words to express the happiness and fulfilment of feeling a long-term dream come true. In contrast, there are some disadvantages as well, namely the anxiety of feeling the uncertainty, the unknown and the responsibility that every decision brings with it. At a personal level, starting a family could be overwhelming, since it means taking care not only of oneself but also of a partner and children, with all the responsibilities it carries with it, having nobody to blame but yourself. At the professional level, when starting a new career path, loneliness, anxiety, fear and isolation are commonly felt during the transition and it takes time, will and commitment to overcome something. A study conducted by the University of Sydney showed that only 30% of the population is open to taking the risk to pursue a new career, change jobs or start new entrepreneurship, while the rest can’t tolerate the mental challenge associated with change. In conclusion, the advantages of people taking risks and facing the unknown, in both professional and personal lives, pursuing their dreams and new opportunities outweigh the disadvantages associated with it.