Some people believe that it's appropriate for children to learn foreign languages in primary school. Does the advantages of this outweigh its disadvantages?

In this day and age, with globalisation reaching new heights due to huge strides taken in the advancement of technology, learning foreign languages,especially at a young age is usually a requirement at most schools up and down the country, and in my personal opinion, I agree that it should be. However, I do also recognise the fact that there are a few people who disagree with that notion and in this,essay we'll discuss both sides of the argument. Firstly, bilingualism is an incredibly useful trait to possess especially when living in such a multicultural country like England. The advantages include potentially improving the child's social life by making new friends with people who are able to speak the foreign language that he learnt. Learning a second jargon can also give the student an insight into a completely different culture and sometimes even religion, and with this newfound insight from a young age, the student can travel comfortably and confidently. This is due to the fact that the student can now speak to multiple different people across multiple different countries and continents depending on the choice of language. For example, learning Spanish will help during a vacation to Spain or most countries in South America. Also, learning a new language can help with the progression of their career in the future, and offers them a wider variety of jobs and opportunities when the time comes. Nonetheless, I do concede that there are reasons why certain parents would find their children learning foreign languages at school unnecessary and inappropriate. Firstly, with English being the child's first language and the most common second language spoken in the world, there's good reason for the parents to feel like their child doesn't need to learn a foreign language due to the fact that there's a good chance any foreign person the child would like to communicate with already speaks some degree of English. Furthermore, a strong sense of nationalism could be the reason why parents would want to avoid letting their children learn a different language. In conclusion, while I do comprehend why certain parents would be sceptical about opening their child up to taking in a foreign language, I must insist that the advantages far outweigh the potential disadvantages in this situation and that it's not only appropriate for children in primary school to learn foreign languages, it should be encouraged.