In spite of the advances in medicine, many people around the world still die of easily preventable diseases. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

Despite the progress made in the field of medicine in recent years, mortality rates continue to be high, especially as a result of diseases that are easy to diagnose and treat. This essay will assess and explain the main causes of this issue, such as rural areas being hard to reach and a massive lack of education, and propose some solutions, the creation of more hospitals and prevention programs. There are two main reasons why people die of easily treatable diseases, firstly, the fact that most rural areas are unreachable by doctors, and secondly, an all-encompassing lack of knowledge regarding health. The highest mortality rates are usually in far-off locations, to which doctors do not have access. These communities cannot do regular health checkups because of this, therefore most times it is too late to treat what might have been curable otherwise. Moreover, there is generalised ignorance regarding health issues and ways to prevent disease which leads to minor issues escalating. For instance, most people did not know the importance of hand-washing until they were told that it was the number-one way to prevent the spread of COVID-19. Solutions to these problems are quite straightforward, that is, more hospitals being built and the creation of prevention programs. Having one health centre in the community would improve the lives of all the people living in distant areas, this would mean early diagnoses, hence early treatment and higher chances of survival. My aunt, for example, had skin cancer diagnosed early and removed on time; now, she is doing fine. Additionally, having prevention programs in schools and churches would also inform people on how to act in certain life-or-death situations, such as someone choking or having a seizure. In conclusion, even though there have been great advances in science, issues such as lack of access to health centres and general ignorance regarding illness prevention have kept the number of easily prevented deaths quite high. The main solutions to this are building more hospitals and prevention programs.