Today it is common to see a famous sportsperson advertising sports products. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

It is a common practice in this present world that most of famous athelets and sports icons becomes brands ambassedors many sports products and this helps manufacturer in the products sales and marketing. There are many advantages and disadvantages in this process and this essay discusses about this. On one hand, from a manufacturer point of view, sales and marketing of a sports products can boost up by selecting a renowned sports icon for their advertising. For example, It is reported that 50% of the sales has increased for the sports wear manufacturer "Nike" when they selected tennis Icon Rafel Nadal as their brand ambassedor. The main reason behind this is that people have a tentency to imitate exactly what their favorate sports person does. Another advantage is that brand ambassedors help manufacturer to create brand value. for instance, companies like addidas Addidas and Reebok also used sports icons to increase their brand value. On the Other hand, if the product is of low quality, then it will give a bad impression to both sports star and manufacturer and can result in the sales of the product. Sports icons needs to put effort to understand the quality and public image of the product before becoming their brand ambassedor. For example, one cricket icon from india have featured in the advertisement of low quality sports wear which resulted his reputation. To conclude, it is fair that sports person advertise for a sports brand of he/she really value the product quality and thus increase his credibility. However being a brand ambassedor for a brand just for the sake of money will be act adversely.