In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today's world where business competition is highly intense. Brands have to differentiate themselves by constantly introducing new means to promote their goods in order to increase their revenue. In my humble opinion, I believe that the effort to advertise new features is considered a drawback since it deceives customers. To begin with, all businesses have to generate and boost their sales and revenue as much as possible but, unfortunately the fiercely competitive market makes it harder to achieve. Thus, each brand’s marketing team has to develop and employ new strategies or tactics by showing that a particular product is indeed new to the market and offers better values for the prices consumers pay. This could make each product outstanding and increase market share. In addition, the reason why advertising goods consisting of new things has a negative effect is that those communications mostly are deceptive advertising. They are just another version of the same product with a change in look, colour or material, however they claim exaggeratedly that it consists of new innovation. For instance, Apple, a company that sell technological smart devices, persistently introduce new smartphone to the market every year. The brand said that iPhone 12 is the best version since it had a new camera lens and 1 year later it promoted the iPhone 13 using an innovative camera, nonetheless both versions are the same lens. To summarise, in order to enhance market share and strengthen revenue, brands need to communicate that their goods are new and unique in some ways. However, I have a firm conviction that these new promotions are defrauding the consumers by overstating the value.