Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, people have plenty of choices to pick out their favourable garments. Therefore, some social behaviour analysts claim that an individual's cultural background or personality can be identified by the style of clothing. Personally, I reckon the assertion is logically insufficient to draw a conclusion. The trend of globalization makes diverse people from different continents share the same lifestyle. In the fashion industry, several famous brands attract tremendous customers from various backgrounds cultures, and nationalities. For instance, H&M, the fast fashion giant based in Spain, has opened numerous chain clothing shops on different continents. However, there are no clear clues that can tell the cultural identity of young ladies wearing the same H&M skirts. Furthermore, it is frequently observed that on certain occasions people in identical clothes with completely different educational, and professional backgrounds and even genders. Some people may argue that different styles of clothes reflect the owner's preferences. However, a specific person's preferences or interests do not necessarily mean his or her cultural properties. There is no solid proof that consumers who prefer red or yellow colour tend to be open or extroverted. In fact, in the garment industry, the major classification of brands is always related to price, in other words, the most important factor is whether the brands are high-end or low-end, even with the same style. Therefore, it is highly possible to tell an individual's wealth rather than culture from their option of clothes. There is an old saying “You cannot judge a book by its cover”, which is a lively metaphor when we are talking about the interpretation of clothing. Do not simply judge someone's culture or character by their wearing.